MINUTES OF THE REGULAR BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE SEVEN OAKS SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON MONDAY, MAY 4, 2015 AT 6:00 P.M., AT THE BOARD OFFICES, 830 POWERS STREET, WINNIPEG, MANITOBA, R2V 4E7.

PRESENT	Claudia Sarbit Derek Dabee Teresa Jaworski Greg McFarlane Evelyn Myskiw Edward Ploszay Maria Santos Richard Sawka	Chairperson Vice-Chairperson Trustee Trustee Trustee Trustee Trustee Trustee Trustee
ELECTRONICALLY	Diane Cameron	Trustee
IN ATTENDANCE	Brian O'Leary Gwen Birse Verland Force Lydia Hedrich Donna Herold	Superintendent Assistant Superintendent Assistant Superintendent Assistant Superintendent Administrative Assistant

Trustee Sarbit in the Chair.

The meeting was called to order at 6:02 p.m.

MINUTES

Approved the minutes of the Regular Board Meeting of Thursday, April 23, 2015 as distributed.

14-143 Approval of the Agenda

Ploszay / Santos That the agenda for this meeting be approved as listed.

Carried

MINUTE OF SILENCE

The Board observed a Minute of Silence in memory of Bettina Rodriguez, student, Garden City Collegiate.

14-144 Moved to Committee of the Whole at 6:04 p.m.

McFarlane / Ploszay That the Board move into Committee of the Whole.

Carried

Trustee Dabee in the Chair.

OFFICER'S REPORTS

Trustees Jaworski, Ploszay and Sawka reported on developments arising from collective bargaining.

14-145 The Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 2348

Ploszay / McFarlane That the Board ratify the 2015-2017 Agreement in Committee with the Canadian Union of Public Employees, Local 2348. <u>Carried</u>

SUPERINTENDENTS' PERSONNEL REPORT

14-146 Superintendents' Personnel Report

Jaworski / Sawka That the Superintendents' Personnel Report be ratified.

Carried

ADMINISTRATIVE APPOINTMENTS

Susan Kurbis was appointed to the position of Acting Principal, H. C. Avery School, effective May 4, 2015 to June 30, 2015.

Mark Gilchrist was appointed to the position of Acting Vice-Principal, H. C. Avery School, effective May 4, 2015 to June 30, 2015.

SUBSTITUTE TEACHER APPOINTMENTS

The following teachers were appointed to Substitute Teacher contracts effective the 2014-2015 school year:

Rachel Atiomo Ken Benson Jillian Dempsey Jessica Dupont Karlisle Epp Jenna Firth Kristen Maxwell Kathleen Nelson Jason Neufeld Bryana Palmer Bailie Park-Payne Celeste Perrin Alyssa Grant Jane Hirose Jaylene Hoffman Juan Jimenez Michelle Kostiw Dara Labossiere Geung Lee Ian Livingston Sonia Radi Shivram Raveendrabose Stephanie Ringer Morgan Schrader Samantha Schewekendiek Jessica Smith Rae-Ann Trudeau Emily Vitt

TEACHER LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Carole McMillan was granted a full-time (1.00) leave of absence, without pay, effective the 2015-2016 school year.

TEACHER SECONDMENT

Barbara Tascona was seconded to the Government of Manitoba to provide services to the Students Working Against Tobacco (S.W.A.T.) program, full-time (1.00) effective September 8, 2015 to June 30, 2016.

TEACHER RETIREMENT

Carol Warona gave notice of intent to retire effective April 13, 2015.

EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANT RETIREMENT

Tammie Lowdon gave notice of intent to retire effective June 30, 2015.

SECRETARY-CLERICAL APPOINTMENTS

Linda Bakowski was appointed to the position of secretary-clerk, full-time (7.0 hours per day) effective August 31, 2015.

Teresa Friesen was appointed to the position of secretary-clerk, part-time (3.5 hours per day) effective August 31, 2015.

PAYROLL / ACCOUNTING CLERK RESIGNATION

Darlah Klassen gave notice of intent to resign effective May 10, 2015.

STUDENT PARENT SUPPORT WORKER RESIGNATION

Daniel Herpai gave notice of intent to resign effective June 30, 2015.

SUPERINTENDENTS' REPORT

The following matters were received as information:

- Personnel Matters.
- Grady Bend Frog Pond Update.
- Winnipeg Free Press Article: Property Values weigh heavily on school-tax burned across Manitoba.
- Elwick Village Resource Centre.
- Board Retreat Draft Agenda.
- Manitoba School Boards Association Liaison Meeting.
- Meeting with MLA's Update.

Trustee Sarbit in the Chair.

14-147 Seven Oaks Monument Committee

Myskiw / Santos That the Board support a contribution of \$9,000.00 towards the Seven Oaks Monument site drawn from the Division's Capital D Budget.

Carried

Carried

Consent Agenda

14-148 Consent Agenda

Santos / Ploszay That the Consent Agenda be approved.

Expenditure Listing to May 4, 2015

That cheques #2152322 to #2153021, and #950 to #962, US cheques #215084 to #215103, direct deposits #20155748-20157158, and pre-authorized debits #2015139-2015207 in the amount of \$17,861,371.87 be approved.

Items of Information

Trustee Cameron thanked Assistant Superintendent Lydia Hedrich and all those involved in the recent Reggio Conference whose work and belief helped make the conference a huge success.

Correspondence

- Gaylene Magnowski, Data Coordinator, Manitoba Education and Advanced Learning. School code assigned to MET School.
- Manitoba News Release. Manitoba Government Announces Major New Investment in Skills Training.

Correspondence

- Manitoba School Boards Association ebulletin April 29, 2015.
- Ron Basarab, Senior Project Architect, Number TEN Architectural Group. Elwick School Elevator and Renovation Change Order #3.
- Colin Bidzinski, Building Plan Examiner, City of Winnipeg. Building permit for École Rivière-Rouge.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 7:57 p.m.

Claudia Sarbit Chairperson Brian O'Leary Superintendent